Support

What does support mean? It’s something I always think about when I hear someone has a need. The questions and thoughts that go through my brain are:

How can we best help?
I know they need something but what?
I don’t want to waste their time or not be helpful.
I want to support them to make their problem/issue/challenge/situation a little easier or better or give them encouragement.
I don’t want to add to their trouble by checking in or asking.

All of these random thoughts and questions really hinder me/us from actually being helpful. I am learning that just sending them a text/call/email/IM and simply ASKING what they need takes away so many doubts, burdens, or other random negative thoughts.

Sometimes support is simply letting that person know you are thinking of them, that you are with them. It’s not expecting them to actually respond if their current situation is overwhelming but letting them know you’re here to help. Sometimes it’s as simple as saying, “hey I’m bringing you some food. I will just drop it off.”

We over complicate supporting each other because we somehow don’t want to “burden” that person with having to  respond or give you something you can do. However, when you ask how you can help and support a person and they give you an option…..do it.

It will probably be super inconvenient and not how you thought you would help but do it anyway.  If for some reason you can’t help when they need it, find resources or someone else that can help you. Call on your village. Let them help and support both of you to help take care of the person you are supporting.

Too often I see us humans isolated and lonely. We hesitate to  call for help or support because it is seen as a sign of weakness. A sign you can’t handle your own business. Over the last few years, I’ve been broken of this more and more each year.

We would not have been able to bring Gideon home without our village. Without you. We know this is the case with our second child. The support isn’t just the monetary side of things. It’s the prayers. The encouragement. Allowing us to share our frustrations, joys, challenges. All of it. You’re our sounding board. You are are support and we thank you!

Leave a comment